Johan Cruyff Talent of the Year Awards

2022/2023: Xavi Simons (left) and Esmee Brugts, winners of the Johan Cruyff Award for most Talented Players in the Dutch Eredvisie.

Since 2003, the Johan Cruyff Award has been awarded to the Talent of the Year in the Dutch Eredivisie. With this prize, Johan Cruyff wanted to give young football players a push towards an even better future and help them to give back. The winner will be given the opportunity from the Johan Cruyff Foundation (and financially supported by the Dutch Vrienden Loterij) to construct a Cruyff Court at a location of their choice. This allows (vulnerable) youth to exercise easily and to develop physically, socially and mentally. Next to the Cruyff Court the winner receives a mini-statue of Johan Cruyff.

From the season of 2022/2023 on, the Johan Cruyff Award will also be rewarded to the most Talented Woman playing in the Dutch Vrouwen Eredivisie.

Winners of the Johan Cruyff Award, for most Talented Player in the Eredivisie:

2022/2023Xavi SimonsPSV
2022/2023Esmee BrugtsPSV
2021/2022Jurriën TimberAjax
2020/2021Ryan GravenberchAjax
2019/2020Due to Covid-19 no winner
2018/2019Frenkie De JongAjax
2017/2018Matthijs de LigtAjax
2016/2017Kasper DolbergAjax
2015/2016Vincent JansenAZ
2014/2015Memphis DepayPSV
2013/2014Davy KlaassenAjax
2021/2013Marco van GinkelVitesse
2011/2012Adam MaherAZ
2020/2011Christian EriksenAjax
2009/2010Gregory van der WielAjax
2008/2009Eljero EliaFC Twente
2007/2008Miralem SulejmaniAjax
2006/2007Ibrahim AfellayPSV
2005/2006Klaas-Jan HuntelaarAjax
2004/2005Salomon KalouFeyenoord
20032004Wesley SneijderAjax
2002/2003Arjen RobbenPSV